V.A. - Country Music From The Pacific Northwest

BACM 580  V.A. - Country Music From The Pacific Northwest


A big thanks to Dick Heil, musician, collector and historian who years ago put together a compilation of mid ‘40s to mid ‘50s western band recordings from the Pacific North West. Correspondence over the years with British musicologist Kevin Coffey has eventually borne fruit with this BACM collection. featuring some of the biggest stars on the 40s/50s North Western scene as well as some obscure ones. Twenty of the tracks are from Heil’s original compilation and as usual we have worked hard on the remastering to remove imperfections and noise whilst preserving musical integrity. A fine celebration of the vibrant NW music scene of the era, complementing earlier BACM releases including the various Texas Jim Lewis and Jack Rivers CDs. As a footnote - the first track, Three Day Pass by Arkie Shibley has , on piano, Dean Manuel later one of Jim Reeves’ Blue Boys who died in Reeves’ 1964 plane crash.

  • Three Day Pass : Arkie Shibley
  • A Smile From My Baby : Cherokee Jack
  • Richard Was A Cowboy : Cherokee Jack
  • Don't Just Stand There : Cherokee Jack
  • My Cherokee Waiting For Me : Cherokee Jack
  • You Can't Break The Chains Of Love : Heck The Singing Cowboy
  • Aint You Ashamed : Paul Tutmarc & The Wranglers
  • What's Been Going On Since I've Been Gone : Jim Parks & His Ramblers
  • Lovely Lies : Vic Martin & His Western Merrymakers
  • Don't Just Stand There : Slim Dossey
  • Mirror On The Wall : Slim Dossey
  • This Is The Last Time I’ll Cry Over You : Slim Dossey
  • The Angel Heaven Sent Me : Slim Dossey
  • Who Bit The End Off Of My Cigar : Leroy Thompson & His Swingtime Playboys
  • Autograph Book : Bill Griffith & His Jack Pine Ramblers Ramblers
  • Stop Look And Listen : Frank Elder
  • You're Number One In My Heart : Frank Elder
  • Ole Weary Blues : Frank Elder
  • Little Coquette (Instr.) : Evergreen Drifters
  • Chasing After You : Roger Crandall
  • You And I : Roger Crandall
  • Yesterday Will Make You Cry : Roger Crandall
  • I'll Be A Bachelor Always : The Sneed Family with Roger Crandall Band
  • Dallas Alice : Harry Long
  • Only The Moonman Knows : Buck Ritchey
  • Silver Bell : Harry Long
  • Talking Blues : Buck Ritchey
  • When The Angels Smile Down : Tommy Kizziah
  • Whittaker Rag (Instr.) : Tommy Kizziah

Escribir comentario

Comentarios: 0